Night #2 – Extreme Sleepover: Shelter Edition

Due to the overwhelming support I received only after 1 night in the shelter, I’ve decided to up my goal to $5000! Can I change the rules of my own fundraiser? Sure, why not?! Mama always said go big or go home!

Here’s a recap of my second night at the shelter!

9:15pm. Arrive at the shelter. Laundry.

9:30pm Let all of the dogs outside to wear off energy before bed. Let the cats out of their communal cages for a kitty party!

10:00pm Reporters from both Newspapers arrive to do interviews about fundraiser.

11:00pm Reporters leave. Jeff’s turn to interview me with his pretend microphone: “Ms. Doucet, how is your husband coping with all of your cockamamie schemes?” I think he misses me!


11:05pm Best discovery ever!! No more startling laundry buzzer!

11:10pm Shut down the kitty party and put cats away. Blow some bubbles for Kittens. Not sure if this is more entertaining for them, or me! BUBBLES!!!

11:10pm Jeff brought a couple of our dogs to visit. Georgia wants to stay the night with mom, but dad said no.

11:30pm Stan says “Dad, why is mom locked up? Please pay her impound fees, I miss her!”

11:35pm Jeff, Stan and Georgia leave. Now to select my sleeping buddy! Casey was my first choice. But she wouldn’t settle down. She was found living at a dump and probably doesn’t even know what a bed IS let alone how she should sleep on one! Though she was great for this picture!

11:45pm My second, third and fourth choice was the Royal Puppies, Philip, William and Mulan. They’ve been in the shelter since they were 4 days old!


“HI! Watcha doing there? Trying to sleep? NO! It’s time to PLAY!”


Maybe this wasn’t the best choice….

12:00am I tried Morgan, but she wouldn’t settle either.

12:10am And then THIS guy started to cry….again.


Angelo get’s his second turn as my sleeping buddy! He is so grateful!

12:10am All ready for bed…with creepy Spinner keeping watch over us.


12:12am Feral mom in heat yowling. Spay appointment made. August 29th won’t be here soon enough! I hope I’m not still here by then!

12:15am Dog’s start barking…A Chorus of Canines! I have a feeling it’s going to be a long night.

12:30am Everyone settles down.

1:00am Kittens are playing in their litter boxes.  Scratch scratch scratch…..scratch scratch scratch….

4:00am Cat screams. Holy crap! I assume it’s Cosmo. She can be a bag sometimes.

5:30am who needs roosters? I have puppies! Sun is up, time to wake up!

6:00am Let dogs outside. I let all cats out for an early morning kitty party.


6:20am break up the kitty party again. Spinner starts howling. Sounds like the “I’m being neutered today” Blues. How does he know?!

6:25am Paula and Randy come to take me for breakfast!

6:30am Night #2 at the shelter complete! Oh I am tired!

If you’d like to donate to help me reach my NEW fundraising goal of $5000 and so I can get back to my warm bed, here’s how!

Donate by Mail
Box 944 Meadow Lake, SK S9X 1Y7

In Person at Meadow Lake Innovation Credit Union

Or Online
http://www.canadahelps.org/CharityProfilePage.aspx?charityID=s83533

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Francie said,

    You are crazy!!! But we love you for it!!!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

