Night #4 – Extreme Sleepover: Shelter Edition

Fundraising total is up to $1455!

Recap of night #4

11:00pm The night begins at the drive-thru, where I order plain cheeseburgers for the shelter pooches.

Cashier – “Hello Welcome to McDonald’s can I take your order?”

Me – “Hi I’d like 13 plain cheese burgers please.”

Cashier – “One plain cheese burger? Is that everything?”

Me – “No, thirrrr-teeeen plain cheese burgers”

Cashier – “Thirteen….Thirteen!?”

Me – “Yes.”

Cashier – “Okay your total is $29.89. Please drive to second window”. (to other employees, but I hear clearly on the speaker) Thirteen! THIRTEEN!!”

I drive to the second window to see an amazed person just gawking at me. I say it is for the dogs at the shelter. I don’t think he believes me. I wait for my burgers and he comes to the window proudly with a full bag, along with all of the kitchen staff who came to see who is buying thirteen cheeseburgers. Slightly awkward.

Cashier – “THIRTEEN cheeseburgers! Have a nice night!”

If I was actually going to eat all of the 13 cheeseburgers I might have been slightly offended!

I arrive at the shelter, cheeseburgers in tow.

Jeff and I clean litter boxes, top up food and water, vacuum and mop floors. Don’t YOU do this at a sleepover? The cats are all out wandering around, looking for their fix of cat nip.

12:00am Put cats away. Bring in dogs. Hand out Cheeseburgers for a bedtime snack!

12:05am McDs for McD!

12:10am. I ordered one too many cheeseburgers. I wonder if they would have made as much of a fuss over TWELVE cheeseburgers! Jeff splits the last one among the cats.

12:15am. I pick McD as my sleeping buddy. Seemed appropriate with my cheeseburger adventures. My bed is wet, I notice after I sit in it. I smell the blankets…it doesn’t smell like pee…I give to Jeff “does this smell like pee?”  Sadly, this isn’t the first time we’ve had this conversation in our marriage. After confirming the substance is not pee, I change my sheets and throw my pants in the dryer.

12:20am Jeff leaves for home sweet home and I get comfy in my shelter sweet shelter.

12:25am McD is bouncing off the walls. Chewing my face, phone, camera, toes, himself..He’s a BIG puppy!

12:30am I finally get him settled down.

1:00am Morgan is growling and barking at something. growl…..bark….growl…bark…

1:05am Then gets everyone else started…myself included.

1:10am I put Morgan outside and lay back down.

1:20am McD continues to bark, and then reaches into the next cage and tips the water bucket. I put him back in his own kennel.

1:30am I bring Autumn in my kennel, I know she’ll just hunker down and sleep!

2:00am Dogs are quiet….and to sleep I go.

6:50am Holy crap! They let me sleep in!  Good morning beautiful girl!

7:00am Shelter night #4 complete! Oh I am tired…

If you’d like to donate to help me reach my NEW fundraising goal of $5000 and so I can get back to my warm bed, here’s how!

Donate by Mail
Box 944 Meadow Lake, SK S9X 1Y7

In Person at Meadow Lake Innovation Credit Union

Or Online
http://www.canadahelps.org/CharityProfilePage.aspx?charityID=s83533

Leave a Reply

