Night #8 – Extreme Sleepover: Shelter Edition

Fundraising total is up to $3020! Thank you all for your generosity! And hopefully after this recap, if you haven’t donated, you will just out of sheer sympathy!

Recap of Night #8!

10:00pm On my way to shelter after spending a nice quiet evening at home with my animals.

10:10pm I get a phone call from a friend that there is a matted dog they’re trying to catch but having no luck. I go to assist.

10:30pm I caught the dog and brought it to shelter. It is an Eskimo cross, very dirty and matted and soaking wet from the storm we had this evening.

10:35pm I dry off the dog and try brushing out some mats and remove a big twig from it’s tail that it was dragging around.

10:40pm I see something move…is that….oh no…it can’t be…oh…there’s another…oh no….FLEAS!

10:45pm I put the dog in the tub and give it a flea bath.

10:50pm I vacuum the office where the dog was. Remove everything from the back seat of my car that the dog laid on.

10:55pm I feel crawly so I vacuum myself.

10:58pm I make the horrifying discovery of a flea on the back of my neck and proceed to scream and dance around the office.

11:00pm I pick off two more fleas. I put them on the desk and try to smush them between my fingers to no avail, so I bang my fist against the desk screaming “WHY WON’T YOU DIE?!?!”

11:05pm The fleas are all moving to higher ground.

11:10pm This dog is absolutely infested with fleas so I decide to shave it. Sorry dog.

11:10pm I am losing my mind and on verge of mental collapse so Paula comes to the shelter. Who knew tiny fleas could send me into a tizzy?

11:30pm The dog is full of scabs underneath all of its fur. It looks like an older dog, as teeth are quite stained and eyes are foggy.

11:35pm Paula turns the heat on in my car because she read heat kills fleas. We’re gonna smoke ’em out of their hole!

11:45pm The shaving went well but the dog decided it’s had enough and starts to bite. I try to get a muzzle on, but they’re both too big, So I put on big gloves for handing wild cats and eagles and continue shaving while the dog bites me.

11:50pm I give up and Paula gets a kennel in office ready for the dog, so it doesn’t go near the other dogs and spread fleas.

11:55pm Put the dog in a kennel with food and water.

12:00am Jeff arrives with some clean PJs.

12:10am Paula leaves, thanks for the emotional support while I dealt with fleas! I wash my hair and change PJs and throw everything into the washer.

12:20am Jeff checks my head for fleas…now I REALLY know how it feels like to be a monkey!

12:35am Since the flea dog was in my sleeping corner I opt for my second bed in the kitten cage. I’ve had enough creepy crawlies for one night. I am barely under the covers before the kittens are climbing all over me. Jeff snaps this picture and then goes home to our wonderful flea free house. Lucky.


12:40am The orange kittens start purring and nuzzling in my ear. This is cute until I realize they are trying to nurse. I remove them and my ear and neck are full of kitten spit.

12:50am I cover my head with blanket and tuck it in underneath my arms and legs. I am hiding. The kittens are nudging and biting and clawing at the blanket attempting to get to me. This is like some ridiculously cute horror movie!

12:55am Kittens are still trying to penetrate my blanket fortress.

1:00am It’s hot under here…I wonder if I can suffocate?

1:05am I come up for air. The kittens are distracted with a toy.

1:15am Cat fight in the male cage. They sound like Ninjas.

1:20am Jill attempts sleep: Take 1.

1:30am They’re baaaack!

2:00am Jill attempts sleep: Take 2.

2:54am Kittens are trying to nurse again. They sound their battle cry “purrrrrr purrrrr purrrrr slobber slobber slobber”.

3:00am I am freezing. Need more blankets. Don’t want to wake dogs. I opt for more warmth.

3:10am I make a cocoon and go back to sleep.

6:00am I wake up. One of the orange kittens comes to nurse. I give up. Have at it.

6:10am Watch the kittens play. I don’t think any of them actually slept the whole night…neither did I!

6:30am Another kitten starts slobbering and biting my ear. That’s it! I’m out of here!

6:35am Put my clean flea laundry in the dryer.

6:45am Night 8 complete. I actually had to think about how many fingers to hold up…

If you’d like to donate to help me reach my fundraising goal of $5000 and so I can get back to my warm bed, here’s how!

Donate by Mail
Box 944 Meadow Lake, SK S9X 1Y7

In Person at Meadow Lake Innovation Credit Union

Or Online
http://www.canadahelps.org/CharityProfilePage.aspx?charityID=s83533

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Mother said,

    I’m scratching just reading this…


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

