Night #9 – Extreme Sleepover: Shelter Edition

Fundrasing total is up to $3535!

Recap of night #9!

10:00pm Arrive at the shelter. Check out Jeff’s rig ups for fly paper. They are very complex!

10:05pm Look at who made the front page of the paper! So exciting!

10:10pm I bring last night’s flea dog (FD) outside to pee, but she doesn’t do anything. We come back in.

10:15pm Let the dogs in. Ziggy is back from his foster home. He is quiet and well mannered in a home setting, but the shelter is a different story! I don’t expect much sleep tonight!

10:20pm While filming Ziggy, Casey leaves a present for me.

10:25pm I let some cats out to wander around. Sit down and snuggle with BK.

10:30pm Revenge is a dish best served sticky!


10:35pm Kittens are calling for me to come sleep over. No way, kids!


10:40pm Give FD some canned food for bed lunch.

11:00pm Take her for a walk and watch a lightning storm in the distance.

11:10pm Back inside as it starts to rain. Sit on the floor with FD. She’s a lot nicer to me when I’m not giving her baths and shaving her! We got off on the wrong foot!

11:20pm Do some laundry and set up my bed in the office. FD stakes her claim.

11:25pm My sleeping buddy for the night. I figured I already had fleas, they’re like chicken pox right? RIGHT?!

11:30pm Settle in to bed. Here comes the thunder! I close the window as I start to get rained on.

11:35pm FD is scared of thunder. She’s panting and shaking. I snuggle with her to calm her down.

3:00am Ziggy barks…and barks..

3:30am Another storm rolls in.

3:40am Power goes out.

3:45am Hear a fly buzzing trying to get off the fly tape above my head…now I just feel bad!

3:50am I get up and make my way to the bathroom, arms stretched in front of me, as I try to navigate the pitch black office. I look like a zombie on the hunt for brains, but instead of moaning “BRAINS” I’m moaning “TOILET”. FD whimpers, I call out to her and she follows me to the bathroom.

4:00am Back into bed. FD paces the office and then settles back down beside me. She’s shaking and panting from the storm again. At least she’s not out in it like last night!

6:30am At some point the power came back on. I wake up and put my bedding into the washer and fold dry laundry.

6:45am Take FD out side for a walk. She would much rather walk in puddles than on grass. No wonder she was a mess!

7:00am Night #9 compelte!

If you’d like to donate to help me reach my fundraising goal of $5000 and so I can get back to my warm bed, here’s how!

Donate by Mail Box 944 Meadow Lake, SK S9X 1Y7

In Person at Meadow Lake Innovation Credit Union

Or Online http://www.canadahelps.org/CharityProfilePage.aspx?charityID=s83533

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Arlene MacFarlane said,

    So proud of you – what a great thing you are doing!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

