Extreme Sleepover: Shelter Edition – A Not-So-Silent Night

Last August I did the Extreme Sleepover: Shelter Edition fundraiser for the Off Leash Dog Park. The response to the fundraiser was overwhelming and I received a lot of positive feedback and inquiries on when I would be doing another sleepover.

Well, you’re in luck! Starting TONIGHT I will be sleeping in the shelter again for as many nights as it takes to raise $5000. This time around the money raised is going directly to the critters at the Humane Society that I will be counting on to keep me warm during those chilly winter nights.

sleepover5

The previous sleepover lasted a total 12 nights to surpass my goal of $5000. Once again I am counting on the generosity of our supporters to get me back to my warm bed in time for the holidays.

There are a few differences this time around:

1.) While I am still working for myself as a pet sitter thorough my Critter Comforts business, I am currently working part time job in a medical office where I work 8am-5pm. Now that I think about it, the 9 hour work days are going to feel unbearably long running on very little sleep. I wonder how this will affect job performance. Apologies in advance to my co-workers if I’m caught randomly napping in an exam room or talking jibberish. 

2.) I moved to an acreage 21km outside of Meadow Lake, so between working and all of my extracurricular activities (Crossfit, Zumba, Volunteering), I won’t be making the trip to and from home, since most evenings I don’t get home until 9 or 10pm. SO, the shelter will be my literal HOME. I will be packing my bags and my blender (Gotta have my morning smoothie!) and will be literally moving into the shelter. I won’t be seeing my own furkids and very little of my husband until I reach my goal. My husband is less than thrilled about this new development. In his words: “You suck!”

3.) So why the Holiday twist? Well, there’s no place like HOME for the Holidays, of course! The shelter is a temporary home for homeless dogs and cats not only for the holidays, but all year round. Our shelter is full of animals who would want nothing more than the gift of a forever home for the holidays. I will be sharing that anticipation as I hope to get back home to my husband and my own furry family. I had such a positive experience the last sleepover; it showed me a side of the shelter I had never seen before, after the lights go out. Our volunteers go above and beyond to make the shelter a safe and comfortable home for the homeless animals who come through our doors. If the shelter is good enough for the dogs and cats in our care, it’s good enough for me!

I look forward to the adventures that await me when the lights go out tonight! Stay tuned for tomorrow’s update!

Here is just a little sampling from last year so you know exactly what I’m getting myself into!

If you’d like to donate to help me reach my fundraising goal of $5000 and so I can get back to my warm bed, here’s how!

Donate by Mail
Box 944 Meadow Lake, SK S9X 1Y7

In Person at Meadow Lake Innovation Credit Union 
Or Online
http://www.canadahelps.org/CharityProfilePage.aspx?charityID=s83533

5 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Linda said,

    Shared a link to the blog with encouragement to donate on my FB page. Good luck and may you be home in your own warm bed soon!

  2. 2

    Carrie said,

    Great for you to be so dedicated! Donated and shared the link!

  3. 3

    “Well, there’s no place like HOME for the Holidays, of course! The shelter is a temporary home for homeless dogs and cats not only for the holidays, but all year round.” => well said.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment