Night #2 – Extreme Sleepover: A-Not-So-Silent Night

Donation Total: $250

Temperature: -14 (feels like -22)

9:22pm Arrive at shelter. Drop my keys in the snow and get my frozen fingers stuck to the padlock. Off to a good start! Fingers are better than my tongue I guess!

9:24pm The dogs are eerily quiet. I look down the hall and they are just staring and wagging.

image

9:33 pm Ok seriously, what gives? I feel like running around screaming so they make some noise. I guess I will enjoy the silence. I may be wishing for it later!

9:35pm Let the kittens out to play. Within seconds I am bleeding. They don’t mess around!

image

9:37pm I could watch them all night! How entertaining!

 

10:00pm Start some laundry. Almost to the bottom of the laundry bucket and it’s pretty funky smelling down there!

10:08pm Add another blanket to my bed. Temperature is dropping. Karen made me a draft stopper for the dog doors! How sweet!

image

10:18pm One of the kittens left a present on the floor. I clean it up. No one said the shelter was a glamorous place!

10:30pm Pick my sleeping buddy for the night. Jake! He settles into bed.

10:35pm I turn out the lights and walk to kennel, kicking the metal garbage can in the process. YEOWCH!

10:39pm Jake jumps at the cat cage and knocks down the draft stopper. Jerk.

image

10:41pm Bedtime take 1!

image

11:52pm Jake jumps at the cats and lands on my head. This is going to be a long night.

12:00am Nature calls and I answer. I sneak to the bathroom, careful not to kick the garbage can, and the dogs stay quiet.

12:07am I am so cold. I hang up the draft blocker blanket, add on another pair of socks, turn up the heat and add an extra blanket. I think I’ve got all the big blankets there are at the shelter.

12:10am Back to bed in my cocoon of warmth.

12:30am Jake is still staring at the cat cage. He can’t actually SEE the cats where he’s staring as there is a partition blocking the two cages. He does his best to stare a hole into the partition to gain access to the cats that are taunting him from the other side. I try to get him to come to bed. He covers me with sloppy kisses then resumes his post fixating on the wall.

1:05am Jake paws at the cage.

2:15am Jake paws at the cage.

3:36am Jake paws at the cage.

4:14am Jake paws at the cage. OH MY DOG! GO TO BED!

5:00am Jake jumps on my head again. Well on the bright side, at least I have the day off!

7:00am Jake finally settles down, now that it’s time to get up! Moral of the story, no cats for Jake!

image

7:20am Feed all the dogs their breakfast. Put Jake back in his kennel.

7:40am Tackle the laundry. Let Salem out to stretch his legs.He uses his extra toes to help me fold towels. He is a Polydactyl kitty; more of him to love!

image

8:02am Get called in to work to cover for a sick co-worker. I run around like a chicken with my head cut off trying to quickly get ready. Where are my keys?! I can’t find my keys! A kitten must have stolen my keys! Oh wait, they’re in my gym bag. Phew!

8:15am Night #2 complete! Oh so tired. Off to work!

image

If you’d like to donate to help me reach my fundraising goal of $5000 and so I can get back to my warm bed, here’s how!

Donate by Mail

Box 944 Meadow Lake, SK S9X 1Y7

In Person at Meadow Lake Innovation Credit Union

Or Online

http://www.canadahelps.org/CharityProfilePage.aspx?charityID=s83533

Leave a Reply

