Night #3 – Extreme Sleepover 2: A-Not-So-Silent-Night

Donation Total: $540

Temperature: -25 (feels like -32)

Check out my interview with the Star Phoenix!

9:22pm Arrive at the shelter. Laundry! I’m sensing a theme here…

9:35pm Discovered a note, heater and extension cord from Lee and exclaimed “I could kiss you!” I was a little worried with the drop in temperature! We’ve got the best volunteers at the shelter. Very caring about all creatures on two and four feet!

image

9:45pm Let some kittens out to play then do some vacuuming. Probably not the best combination. Lots of hissing, spitting and puffiness going on.

10:00pm Tab Bands are the best invention since the light bulb and sliced bread. Seriously. We have an overabundance of orange cats and kittens this season, I can’t keep everyone straight.

image

10:07pm Banded the newest kittens and let them play a bit.

image

 

10:15pm Picked my sleeping buddy, Mishka. She was one of 5 dogs and 16 cats that were surrendered to us from a home with an overabundance of animals. We were told she was chained to a vehicle in the back yard, so not sure how she’ll react to being in a bed!

image

10:23pm Let Bond out to stretch. Mishka is very curious about him and slobbers all over him. He just purrs contently. They were surrendered from the same home, though neither were in the house so unsure if they’ve ever met.

image

10:57pm The dogs are restless any VERY vocal tonight. They are outside yelling at each other over nothing.

11:00pm Settle into bed. Mishka goes outside.

11:05pm Mishka comes in and I give her some cuddles. She hunkers down at the foot of the bed. I’m impressed!

image

11:11pm Dogs stop barking. Let the sleep begin!

image

2:00am I think there is a cat in heat, or someone who likes the sound of their own meow. ROWRRRRRRRR…MEOWWWRRRRRRRRRRRR…ROOOOOOOOOOOOWWWWWRRRRRRRRRRRR!!!

3:06am Still being serenaded by the mystery cat. I don’t like this tune.

4:19am Doggy wake up call. A chorus of barking startles me awake. My nerves are shot.

5:37am Awoken by the smell of poo. The cats next door are trying to gas me out.

6:58am Up before my alarm. The dogs hear me and offer their alarm services in a chorus of Ruffs and Woofs. Wake up Mishka and praise her for being such a good sleeper.

7:15am I get ready for work and Mishka follows me around.

7:40am Did an interview for CBC Morning Edition!

7:52am Night #3 complete!

image

If you’d like to donate to help me reach my fundraising goal of $5000 and so I can get back to my warm bed, here’s how!

Donate by Mail

Box 944 Meadow Lake, SK S9X 1Y7

In Person at Meadow Lake Innovation Credit Union

Or Online

http://www.canadahelps.org/CharityProfilePage.aspx?charityID=s83533

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Lexi said,

    Awesome! Mischka almost looks incredulous! Like she can’t believe she actually gets to share a bed with someone! Well done Jill 🙂

  2. 2

    Frances werry said,

    I adopted a lovely cat when I lived in LaRonge and she’s still with us 18 years later. I admire the work you do for all the animals needing homes up north and I’m glad to help out


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

