Ultimate Jailbreak Night #2

Temperature -20 feels like -30.

Goal $5000

Total $2905

All day at Carpenter my students were giving me donations and words of encouragement. I can’t say this enough- all of my students are the BEST. They made me cry multiple times with their kind words. I felt like a zombie but their encouragement kept me going all day long.

8:30pm- I arrive back at the shelter after the evening shift volunteers finished with cheese burgers for the dogs as per Jills request.

First up, Ice.
He was very thankful.
Next is Frank.
He was also very thankful.
River is next- she was SO gentle.
Wilma took hers eagerly.
She preferred not to let me watch her enjoy.
Betty was next.
She was very thankful.
Dexter was up next, he has great catching skills!
Coco also has good catching skills!
Look at her little smile!
Spade was next!
He wasn’t sure what to think at first, but happily ate it!
Buster couldn’t wait for his!
Didn’t take a photo but after following me around watching everyone else enjoy a burger- my pack enjoyed one of their own and River got to play!

9pm- my friend Carmen and her daughters arrive to give the animals some loving! We spent time with each dog and each cat. They brought the cats some canned food!

This is Humphrey. I rescued him a few weeks ago on a cold night. He was trying to jump into peoples vehicles in Coop grocery store parking lot. He was SO thankful to have warmth. He seriously is such a cuddly sweet boy! And he needs a great home before Christmas!

11pm- Carmen and her daughters leave. I go around saying my good nights to everyone.

11:30pm- I decide to turn lights off and attempt some sleep.

11:37pm- dogs start barking. I’m almost certain Wilma has started the singing. I give out a sigh and try turn over.

12am- still going. Maybe there is an animal outside bugging them. I’ll give it a few minutes before I get up and investigate.

12:02am- dogs come in and begin their synchronized drinking routine. It is kind of a soothing sound. everyone quiets down.

1:10am- wow a solid hour! Awesome. Of course it’s the cats meowing and fighting two cages over that wake me up. Like come on kitties can’t we all get along?

1:57am- dexter let’s out a few whines from 2 cages down. I reassure him everything is fine. I hear his door flap and a few barks outside. Ok everyone now it not the time to begin choir practice.

3:03am- cats again! They are digging in their litter box next cage over. I try to ignore it but the smell soon follows. Oh boy- do I get up or do I try roll over and sleep? Roll over it is.

4:17am- I’m starting to think the animals are all team no sleep for this years jailbreak! A dog a few cages down- I can’t tell who it would be starts digging at their bed. I try explain that this type of bed cannot be made any different. They ignore me and keep going.

4:30am- it’s quiet. Ok everyone let’s focus on the quiet and sleep.

5:37am- dogs up again. This time it’s the dogs in cages across the way from me. All except Ice because I can hear him crying while the others bark. I know buddy, I want sleep too.

Contemplating trying to get more sleep or just getting up. My little rescue Prim is never far.

I lay there trying to fall back asleep but the dogs are up for the day now I think. I decide to get up and start my car.

6:15am- I say my goodbyes to the dogs.

Look at all the cute faces.

6:30am- I decide to leave because the morning volunteers will be there soon to complete their shift so I load up my dogs.

I’ll be back to set up for Santa photos shortly! Make sure you bring your $5 and come get a professional photo taken of you and your fur baby with or without Santa. We will have hot chocolate!

Night #2 complete!

If you’d like to donate via etransfer please send to mldhs@sasktel.net and if you’ll like a tax receipt for donations over $20 please put your address in the memo so we can mail you one. If you’d like to give cash please contact me 3062400165.

Thank you to those who have generously donated this far! Any amount is so appreciated! ❤️

Special shout of to Gateway teachers for surprising me with a cheque and my home First Nation- Waterhen Lake for their generous donation.

Bring on Santa photos and night #3.

Leave a comment